No Goals, No Tomorrow

I take back what I said last post about New Year’s resolutions (which you can read here). Why? Because of this post from Zenhabits.net called “How to Have the Bet Year of Your Life (Without Setting a Single Goal)”.

Of course, I should have known: goals and plans are doomed to fail, because everything is always changing, changing, changing. So the solution is really just to live life moment to moment goal- and plan-free. I do this already without even thinking about it, but often times I think I need to set goals or plan things out because so many people tell me I need to when I complain about not getting things done.

But that’s the other thing: I do get things done, it’s just a matter of what I’m paying attention to. If I spend my time on Facebook, I’m going to make a Facebook-world for myself. If I spend too much time on this blog, I’m going to make a blogging-world for myself. If I spend to much time thinking about yesterday, I’ll make a past-world. Too much time thinking about tomorrow creates future-world. But there is no past, no present, and no future. There are only these words right now, and only you reading them.

I’m done. Now, I sleep. No plans for tomorrow, just curiosity, passion, and discovery. In the morning, wake up. At night, sleep. Only this.

About mikebruffee

A simple man with simple needs. Love and goodwill conquer all in the end.
This entry was posted in Don't Know, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

